Winners Announced for the 34th Annual Lemon Grove History Essay Contest





2024 Lemon Grove History Essay 8th Grade Winners

2024 Winners of the 34th Annual  Lemon Grove History Essay Contest Are Announced!

8th Grade Winners are: 1st, Natalie D., Vista La Mesa Academy, pupil of Mrs. Morgan; 2nd, Dominic R. Lemon Grove Academy Middle, pupil of Mr. Brookolo; 3rd Caroline N., also a pupil of Mrs. Morgan’s at Vista La Mesa Academy.


34 Years and going strong, Lemon Grove students continue to participate in great number at the annual Lemon Grove History Essay Contest!

On April 16th at the Lemon Grove City Council meeting, the winners of the 2024 Treganza History Essay Competition were announced! Our Lemon Grove third graders made a strong showing this year with 119 3rd grade students submitting entries, one of the largest submissions since Dr. Amorita Treganza launched and endowed the competition in 1990.   Treganza founded the competition to help third graders learn local history and appreciate their pioneer forebears.  The Lemon Grove Historical Society now sponsors the two  history competitions annually for 3rd and 8th grade students from all schools within the Lemon Grove School District.
Third grade winners this year were: 1st, Omar D., 2nd Kimberly V.A., 3rd Raquel M.  All three winners are pupils of Mrs. Jaboro of Monterey Heights School. Honorable Mention went to Alex T. and Erin Jade M. of Mt. Vernon School,  both pupils of Mrs. Mendoza. Congratulations!
Roberta Bulling, the Education chair of LGHS has worked closely with Lemon Grove teachers and students all year to bring this important annual Lemon Grove educational event to conclusion. She prepared a lively slide show about the Parsonage Museum, a historic building packed with appealing displays about local history that was presented in each class that participated.  Bulling noted ” We owe this record of hard work and inspired 3rd and 8th grade winners to the dedicate teachers in the Lemon Grove School District, and a very supportive school superintendent staff. ” I could not be more thrilled,” said Bulling. “Our judges had a very tough job in deciding the winners.
 For more information, visit or call the museum, 619-460-4353.


  • Helen Ofield

    Helen M. Ofield is the past president of the Lemon Grove Historical Society. She spearheaded the saving of Lemon Grove’s first church (built 1897) and its adaptive reuse as the Parsonage Museum of Lemon Grove, and the saving of the H. Lee House (built 1928) and its adaptive reuse as the city’s cultural center. Her civic history, Images of America: Lemon Grove (Arcadia 2010) features photographic content by Pete Smith. She is an award-winning writer-producer for national and regional film and television, as well as for print and online news media, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, former seven-year member of the San Diego County Historic Site Board, and a long-time historic preservationist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

May 2nd History Alive Lecture Series Features Joyce Moore of Lemon Grove Thrive
September 7th “History Alive” Lecture Series Features Our Student Members William and Sarah G.