LGHS Announces the Winners of the 33 Annual Dr. Amorita Treganza 3rd Grade Essay Contest





2023 Winners Announced at the 33rd Annual  Dr. Amorita Treganza        Lemon Grove History Essay Contest on April 18th at the Lemon Grove City Council Meeting

Winners from Left to right are: Ms. Darleen Fabio – teacher at Vista La Mesa Elementary, 1st place winner Erika T, 2nd place winner Alexia M, Ms. Murray – teacher at Mt. Vernon, honorable mention winner Ailany S, 3rd place winner  Sophia B, Ms. Fripp – teacher at L.G. Academy Elementary , honorable mention Ailany R, LGHS President Laura Hook, LGHS Education Chair Roberta Bulling

2023 Dr. Treganza History Essay Contest Winners announced at LG City Council Meeting
On April 18th at the Lemon Grove City Council meeting, the winners of the 2023 Treganza History Essay Competition were announced! Our Lemon Grove third graders set a record this year with 141 3rd grade students submitting entries, the largest number in 33 years, or since Dr. Amorita Treganza launched and endowed the competition in 1990.   Treganza founded the competition to help third graders learn local history and appreciate their pioneer forebears.  She was also a founder of the Lemon Grove Historical Society which sponsors the two  history competitions annually for 3rd and 8th grade students from all schools within the Lemon Grove School District. “It was an exciting night as the winners were announced and presented their awards along with their dedicated teachers” said Laura Hook, LGHS president “These competitions, together with our free History Alive lecture series are our most important public projects.”
Roberta Bulling, the Education chair of LGHS has worked closely with Lemon Grove teachers and students all year to bring this important annual Lemon Grove educational event to conclusion. She prepared a lively slide show about the Parsonage Museum, a historic building packed with appealing displays about local history that was presented in each class that participated.  Bulling noted ” We owe this record of hard work and inspired 3rd grade winners to the dedicate teachers in the Lemon Grove School District, a very supportive school superintendent Erica Balakian, and to Marianne Vinson, a linchpin of the staff. ” I could not be more thrilled,” said Bulling. “Our judges had a very tough job in deciding the winners. 
 For more information, visit www.lghistorical.org or call the museum, 619-460-4353.


  • Helen Ofield

    Helen M. Ofield is the past president of the Lemon Grove Historical Society. She spearheaded the saving of Lemon Grove’s first church (built 1897) and its adaptive reuse as the Parsonage Museum of Lemon Grove, and the saving of the H. Lee House (built 1928) and its adaptive reuse as the city’s cultural center. Her civic history, Images of America: Lemon Grove (Arcadia 2010) features photographic content by Pete Smith. She is an award-winning writer-producer for national and regional film and television, as well as for print and online news media, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, former seven-year member of the San Diego County Historic Site Board, and a long-time historic preservationist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

Parsonage Museum Opens New Exhibit June 10 2023: MARCHING FORWARD
LGHS History Mural Returns to 3308 Main Street!